Who are we?

The Spanish Federation of Municipalities and Provinces (Federación Española de Municipios y Provincias, FEMP) is the nationwide Association of Local Entities with the largest established base, grouping together Municipalities, Delegations, Councils and Insular Councils: a total of 7,287, who represent more than 89% of Spanish Local Governments.

Constituted pursuant to the content of the Fifth Additional Provision of Law 7/1985, dated 2 April 1985, regulating the basic precepts of Local Regime, it was declared an Association of Public Use by means of Resolution of the Council of Ministers dated 26 June 1985.

The FEMP is the Spanish Section of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR) and the official headquarters of the Ibero-American Organization of Inter-municipal Cooperation (Organización Iberoamericana de Cooperación Intermunicipal, OICI).

The foundational and statutory purposes of the FEMP are: promotion and defence of the autonomic principle of Local Entities; representation and defence of the general interests of Local Entities with respect to other Public Administration Entities; development and consolidation of the European spirit in the local setting based on autonomy and solidarity between Local Entities; promotion and fostering of relations of friendship and cooperation with Local Entities and their organizations, particularly in the European, Ibero-American, and Arab setting; the rendering of all kinds of services to Local Corporations or to the entities dependent upon these, either directly or through associations or entities, and any other purpose that may directly or indirectly affect the associates of the Federation. 

The Federation is governed by two basic internal regulations: the Statutes, approved during the 9th General Assembly, and the Internal Regulations.

Its official headquarters is found in Madrid, Nuncio 8.


> Ir a la fototeca